Chairman Shafik Gabr awarded The De Paul Award


The De Paul Award

May 11, 2016

Mount Saint Vincent continually recognizes individuals at the Annual Scholarship Tribute Dinner who boast lives of achievement with dedication to their principles.

This year, the College honored two internationally recognized industry leaders: Chairman of the Shafik Gabr Foundation (US) M. Shafik Gabr, and Pamela J. Newman, President and Chief Executive Officer of The Newman Team at Aon plc.

Introducing Chairman Shafik Gabr at the ceremony was Mount Saint Vincent President Dr Charles L. Flynn.

The De Paul Award is the most prestigious at Saint Vincent, which was awarded
to the Chairman for his work and efforts in seeking a better understanding between the East and West. For this reason Dr. Flynn has recognized him as an individual, "whose life and work express the respect and hope that is the light of the world.”

Distinguished guests and friends of the Foundation, include His Excellency Sameh Shoukry, Minister of Foreign Affairs for the Arab Republic of Egypt; His Excellency Amr Moussa, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Former Secretary General of the Arab League; His Excellency Ambassador Amr Aboulatta, Permanent Representative of Egypt to the United Nations; and His Excellency and Ambassador Ahmed Farouk, Consul General of Egypt in New York, His Excellency Vuk Jeremic and Congressman Nicholas Rahall.